The order of the Conjuring movies: How to watch them

by Corinna

The order of the Conjuring films can be a little confusing if you want to follow the plot logically. The chronological list is helpful

Conjuring: Chronological order of the horror films

The Conjuring horror film series was created by filmmaker James Wan and takes place between 1950 and 1981, highlighting the supernatural encounters of American ghost hunters Ed and Lorraine Warren.

  • The story begins with The Nun (2018) in 1952, where the demon Valak is haunting the Romanian monastery of St. Carta. The case is investigated by Father Burke and Sister Irene, who are sent out by the Vatican
  • Only four years later, Sister Irene finds herself on the trail of Valak in The Nun II (2023). He wants to steal the eyes of Saint Lucia. Of course, Irene wants to prevent this
  • Continue with Annabelle 2 (2017), whose plot is primarily set in 1967, but shows many scenes dating back to 1943. The film shows the creation of the doll Annabelle and how she becomes possessed
  • Annabelle (2014) picks up three years later and continues the story of the doll. The film is based on a real doll that the Warren couple examined.
  • 1971 is the first part of the Conjuring series (2013). The Warren couple investigate a house that is said to be haunted by a demon. This story is also said to be based on a true story
  • Only one year later, the story returns with Annabelle 3 (2019). This part sheds light on what happens after the Warren couple take the doll home with them and it subsequently turns into a real nightmare.
  • 1976 and 1977 is the setting for Conjuring 2 (2016). The movie takes the Warrens to Amityville House and Entfield to investigate more cases of hauntings. Here it turns out that Valak has been pulling the strings in the background the whole time and has received help from other demons such as the Crooked Man.
  • Continue with Conjuring 3: Under the Spell of the Devil (2021), set in 1980 and 1981, which sheds light on the murder of his landlord by Arne Cheyenne Johnson. Johnson is said to have been possessed by a demon during the crime, which the Warrens must investigate.
  • Another installment in the series, The Conjuring: Last Rites, has been announced. This is said to be the final case of the Warrens. There is currently no release date (May 2024)
  • A television series is also being worked on, which will be set after the last part of the series. It will be created by HBO Max

Other films in the Conjuring universe: Order

There are other films set in the Conjuring universe that are not part of the franchise.

  • This includes Wolves at the Door by John R. Leonetti from 2016, which is set in 1969 and therefore between the films Annabelle 2 and Annabelle. The story is based on the Manson Family’s Tate murders
  • The film features the character of Detective Clarkin from the Annabelle films. Together with the police, he investigates the crime
  • Llorona’s Curse (2019) is another film that has a connection to the Conjuring universe in the form of Father Perez and was directed by Michael Chaves.
  • The film is set in 1973, between the last Annabelle installment and Conjuring 2, and revolves around the Mexican legendary figureLa Llorona, a mother who drowned her two sons. This ghost haunts a mother who asks father Perez for help.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment