With WhatsApp, you can see who has blocked you. We explain exactly how this works on the messenger here.
Blocked on WhatsApp: How to see if you have been blocked
If you suspect that one of your contacts may have blocked you on the messenger service WhatsApp, there are a few clues that can point to this. To check these signs, you first need to select the relevant person in the app and look out for the following clues:
- Online status: If the contact has blocked you, you will no longer be able to see when they were last online.
- No profile picture: The profile picture is also no longer displayed. Instead, you will see the standard white picture, i.e. a generic avatar.
- Status of contact not visible: Tap on the name of the contact at the top. If you can no longer see the status, you have most likely been blocked.
- Message is no longer being delivered: If you send a message to the person, it will only be sent with a tick, the message will not reach the contact.
- To find out if you have been blocked, you need to check if the contact in question is still providing you with their information.
- If, however, your contact is a more withdrawn person who doesn’t share much data about themselves such as pictures, online or message read status, you need to check if your chats are being delivered.
- Note: In another tip, we explain how you can block even disliked contacts in WhatsApp.