Before you can delete the account with Klarna, a few measures are absolutely necessary in advance. Only when you have “cleaned up” the account may you delete it.
Deleting a Klarna account – what you need to know
If you want to delete your account with the Swedish payment service provider Klarna, there are a few things you need to know.
- A crucial requirement for deleting your account with Klarna is that the account is “clean”. In concrete terms, this means that there are no more outstanding payments and that any instalment payments have been repaid. Furthermore, of course, there must be no pending dunning or debt collection proceedings.
- If your Klarna account has a round zero, you can delete the account. To delete the account in the Klarna app, first call up the payment data. Then select the account you want to delete and click on “Delete information”.
- This deletes the account from your smartphone, but the account itself still exists. To delete your data permanently, you must contact Klarna’s customer service. You can reach them on 0221 669 501 10. Klarna’s customer service is open from Monday to Friday between 8:00 and 18:00 and on Saturdays and Sundays between 8:00 and 17:00.
- The staff can delete the account as far as possible, but not all data. According to banking law, some personal data must be stored for a period of up to ten years. After the Klarna account is deleted, you no longer have any access to the data. It therefore makes sense to back up all data such as invoices and payments in advance.